How to run a program only once inside another program in every loop?

Hi, I am new to Arduino. Currently using an Arduino UNO and programmed it for a specific task using LDR to detect sunrise and sundown. However, Since I will be outside my house for a couple of days, I wish to program it to actuate a 12V DC valve which could water my plants for say 4 minutes everyday each time after sunrise and also after sundown. Can anyone help me with the basic coding as using for() loop inside the If () is not viable. Also, I want the valve to close after 4 minutes and not to open till the relay 2 change its state after sundown or sunrise.

Thanks in advance.

my program so far;

void loop()
{
lightvalue = analogRead (ldr);
lightvalue = 100 - lightvalue/10.24;

if (lightvalue >= 90)
{
digitalWrite (relay2, LOW);
}
else
{
digitalWrite (relay2, HIGH);
}
delay (500);
}

If you just want the pump to operate when daylight is first detected and again when darkness is first detected then you program need to activate when the LDR value changes from dark to light and again when it changes from light to dark. But that is not going to be easy because the daylight level changes very slowly and, if there are clouds, it may get bright and go dark again a few minutes later. You may be able to compensate for that by leaving a long interval between successive readings of the LDR - perhaps 20 minutes or 30 minutes.

I suspect it would be more reliable to use time to determine when the pump operates.

If you do want to use the change in light level then you need code something like this pseudo code

previousLightLevel = lightLevel;
lightLevel = analogRead(LDRpin);
if (lightLevel >= brightValue and previousLightLevel <= darkValue) {
   // it just got bright
}

if (lightLevel <= darkValue and previousLightLevel >= brightValue) {
   // it just got dark
}

I would not bother with this conversion

I would just work with the value that analogRead() produces.

…R

Robin2: