how use 230 mV input with digital pin

Hi, I am currently trying to use a 230mV source with a digital pin on the arduino. From a previous question, I have started by using an opto coupler (4N35) to seperate the source from the arduino, with the gnd of the arduino connected with the gnd from the source. At the moment I am just trying to get the cicuit to work, using PWM output from an arduino pin to represent the 230mV source.

analougeWrite(9,11.79);

I have been able to get a LED to blink, using the PWM through the opto copuler and an additional power source, but unable to get the digialRead to detect the changes in the state unless I increase the PWM to analougeWrite(9,100);. I have very little knowledge in electronics. I thought, that it may be possible to use a transistor to act as a switch, but I'm not sure.

Any help would be great Thanks Jason

analougeWrite(9,11.79);

Well, you spell it "analogWrite", and it doesn't take floating-point parameters.

Can you give more detail of what you have and what you're trying to achieve?

Unless you low-pass filter the PWM output, all you'll get is a fairly rapid full-on and full-off.

We need some more info, are you trying to detect a 230mv as a "HIGH" state? or is it the output from the optocoupler? please post some kind of schematic or wiring diagram.

jas007: I have started by using an opto coupler (4N35) to seperate the source from the arduino, with the gnd of the arduino connected with the gnd from the source.

Using an optocoupler, you don't need to connect ground.

ref. http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,61809.0.html

You would need to provide us with more information of the characteristics of your '230mV' signal. Is this a digital signal that can have only two values, 0vdc and +.230vdc ? Or is a slowly changing analog voltage that can vary between o and + .230vdc, or is it an AC signal that can vary +.230 to -.230vdc?