HS-785HB servo problem

I’m trying to control an HS-785HB winch servo with an Arduino Uno to move a rail up and down, and it’s not working for me. I’m pretty new at this, so I’m sure it’s some boneheaded mistake on my part, but I can’t figure out what it is.

I have a shop DC power supply set to provide 6V and 1800 mA and I’ve connected the servo to its positive and negative terminals. I’m running code like at https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=388506.0 , which uses the servo library (#include <Servo.h>) to attach to the servo and write different microsecond values to it. In every case, the behavior I get is the servo just rotates continuously counter-clockwise drawing about 100 mA (no load). In fact, I get this same behavior if I just touch the signal wire with my finger. If the signal wire is disconnected from the pin and not touching me, then the servo stops rotating. Using a multimeter connected to the PWM pin, I do see about 50 Hz (49.93) and 7.5% duty cycle for 1500 microseconds, which is what I expect.

In the thread I linked, the poster experienced the same problem. One suggestion was “connect the grounds together”. That may be where I’m going wrong. When I connect the servo to the the ground of the power supply or to the Arduino ground, it doesn’t draw any current at all. Does that make sense?

The servo power supply and the board grounds have to be connected or you will get erratic behavior from the servo. The electrical control signal from the board to the servo has to have a ground path back to the board.