I need to control 400 LEDs with an arduino mega

Hi, I have 400LEDs that I need to control with 24 pins (I want each pin to control approximately 15 LEDs). First of all can an arduino mega handle that? Also, I know that in these cases a transistor is what I need. How do I know what kind of transistor I need to get? Is there a specific formula? And finally how do I know what kind of power supply I need in order to be able to handle that. Sorry for the multiple questions, but I'm an amateur. I would really appreciate your help!

Not sure what kind of leds you are using? I am controlling a couple hundred ws2812b on a strip with one lead from the Arduino.

I have 400LEDs that I need to control with 24 pins (I want each pin to control approximately 15 LEDs).

Tell us more of what you are trying to do.

How do I know what kind of transistor I need to get?

You need to get one that can handle the current you want to switch.

Is there a specific formula?

No.

how do I know what kind of power supply I need in order to be able to handle that

You need the total current and what voltage you need from it.

In order to light an LED you need enough voltage to over come the forward voltage of the LED and then about the same again for the resistor.
You can wire several LEDs in series and only use one resistor. However that is not likely you can wire 400 / 15 = 27 in series. So you will have to wire several of these strings in parallel.

So what is the forward voltage of your LEDs and do you want to use a 12V or a 24V power supply?