Increased beeping when getting further from transmitter

Hi guys!

I'm quite new at Arduino and I've decided to try my first project! I would like to create a proximity alarm system for my kid. By proximity alarm system I mean: a) transmitter b) receiver. When receiver gets further away from transmitter, receiver starts to beep, increasing in intensity and frequency with distance.

Is this something a beginner like me could do? Or is it too complicated? Any pointers at where to start?

Thank you,

spookeywookey

It won't work. Because of reflections and obstacles in the RF environment, radio signal strength is seldom proportional to distance to any reasonable degree of accuracy.

How about an ultrasonic project?

The further you get from the Arduino, beeping starts, then the frequency gets higher.

The distance should be 3-4 meters, therefore no interference should occur? It's for public places so I don't lose my kid.

spookeywookey: The distance should be 3-4 meters, therefore no interference should occur? It's for public places so I don't lose my kid.

What sort of wireless modules are you thinking of using?

I would not expect any reliably detectable variation in wireless signal strength over that sort of distance - with or without obstacles.

...R

ebay Wouldn't this do the job?

EDIT: or should I rather use BLE?

spookeywookey: ebay Wouldn't this do the job?

What makes you think that?

Have you read the replies you have received?

...R

Yes, but I also know that you can increase or decrease signal strength of some modules.

Would it break your bank to get the pieces you think will work and try them?

Paul

Paul_KD7HB: Would it break your bank to get the pieces you think will work and try them?

+1

spookeywookey: Yes, but I also know that you can increase or decrease signal strength of some modules.

What has that got to do with determining distance based on received signal strength?

...R

OP Have you looked into Smart Tag stuff?