initiating IF statement with a keystroke to control an LED

Howdy,

I am very new to Arduino but am trying to build a simple LED based fluorometer. As far as hardware goes, i have a simple photodiode (to be replaced with a more sophisticated one once i figure out what i am doing) and a high powered Cree LED controlled through a BuckPuck driver. I am collecting data and writing it to the serial port just about as fast as it can be done. What i would like to do is make an if/else statement that would initiate when i press the (S) key on my key board. This if statement would turn the LED on for a set amount of time and then promptly turn it back off. Does this seem possible? What kind of code structure or syntax do i need? I attempted to use the 'keyboard.begin' and 'keyboard.press' functions but i got an error message saying they were only available on a different Arduino board (mine is the standard Arduino UNO). I would very much appreciate any and all help i can get. Thanks in advance for your time.

Regards,

Kenneth D. Hoadley Student at the University of Delaware

Arduino can't directly communicate with your keyboard. It can communicate via the serial port. You can use the Serial Monitor app in the IDE to send an 'S'. here is how I would look for the S and control LED

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);  //Make sure serial monitor baud rate same
}
void loop() {
  if(Serial.avalable() > 0) {
    char isItS = Serial.read();
    if(isItS == 'S') {
       //turn on LED
      // delay a bit  //I use delay here cause its simple,  blink without delay way better 
     //turn off LED
     }
  }
}

Here's (an extract from) some code I use to drive motors based on keypresses....

char incomingByte;   // for incoming serial data

void setup() 
{
 Serial.begin(9600);
 }

void loop() 
{
   if (Serial.available() > 0) {
                // read the incoming byte:
                incomingByte = Serial.read();

// say what you got: