Interfacing Arduino with DS18S20

I did some searching and came across Miles Burton's Dallas Temperature Library here:

http://milesburton.com/wiki/index.php?title=Dallas_Temperature_Control_Library

Im running his sample code, and using a 4.7k resistor as he specifies. When I watch the serial terminal, I get:

Dallas Temperature IC Control Library 1.0. Miles Burton 3.00C 3.00C 3.00C -- repeating --

If I touch the sensor it goes up no further than 3.70C. I know for sure that my room is hotter than that; where should I begin? Im still quite new to my Arduino

EDIT I have tried parasitic and normal power modes but that didnt make a difference.

The example code from this works:

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Learning/OneWire

If you can't get that to work for you, then there is probably a wiring error (pretty simple wiring) or a defective part.

That will at least get you started from a known good point.

I don't have a RAR program to unarchive the sources but... if you're getting 3.00C for room temperature then the program is confusing your 18S20 for an 18B20. You should be printing 24.00C -- your reading is one-eighth of what it should be because the 18S20 has only 9-bits of precision and the 18B20 can have upto 12-bits, a difference of 3-bits or a factor of 2*2*2 or 8.

Do as EmilyJane suggests and use the tried and true program from the example code from the playground. I suspect that your wiring is just fine!

-Rusty-

Hi guys, thanks for the reply!

I ran the OneWire sample code and this is my output in the serial terminal: