Interupting and restarting loop

I am working on a project that will use arduino to control 8 printers. I have the wiring in mind but I am trying to program the task. So far I am using 8 LED's and the time they are on represent the time they will be printing. So I can get the lights to blink but i want to be able to stop the lights at any moment and restart from the same point. Currentlly I have to hold the button to eventually stop the loop.

I also know ther are better ways to write this code but I am really new at this. Please Help int switchPin2 = 2; int switchPin = 1; int led1Pin = 13; int led2Pin = 12; int led3Pin = 11; int led4Pin = 10; int led5Pin = 9; int led6Pin = 8; int led7Pin = 7; int led8Pin = 6;

int val; int val2; int buttonState; int lightMode = 0;

void setup() { pinMode(switchPin, INPUT);

pinMode(led1Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led2Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led3Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led4Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led5Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led6Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led7Pin, OUTPUT); pinMode(led8Pin, OUTPUT); Serial.begin(9600); // Set up serial communication at 9600bps buttonState = digitalRead(switchPin); // read the initial state }