IR sensor and motor beginner help please!

I have been trying to make a program that uses the 2,5 numbers on my IR remote to control a motor's speed(later the direction with other keys). But when I upload the code the motor does not move :frowning: .I have tried everything I can think of, the problem is not a physical error because using this code I can make the motor move.

#include <IRremote.h>

int motorPin = 6;
void setup()
{
pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);

}

void loop()
{
analogWrite(motorPin, 100);
}

All I want is to use the integer "Num" to control the speed of the motor, I change Num using the IR remote.
Other info
when I look at what it is printing it is printing the correct numbers.
The minimum speed of my motor is 40.
I am using a 3-6v motor from an arduino kit.
I am very new to arduino, just got one this Christmas.
The code does not come up with any errors
The majority of the code was not written by me, it was just copied and pasted from other places and merged together.
I have spent over 3 hours trouble shooting but I have not gotten any results.

Here is my code:

#include <IRremote.h>

const int RECV_PIN = 7;
IRrecv irrecv(RECV_PIN);
decode_results results;

int motorPin = 6;

int Num = 60;
void setup()
{
pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
irrecv.enableIRIn();
irrecv.blink13(false);
while (! Serial);

}

void loop()
{

if (irrecv.decode(&results)){

switch(results.value){
case 0xFF38C7: //Keypad button "5"
Num = Num - 10;
if(Num > 250)
{Num = 250;}
if(Num < 40)
{Num = 40;}
Serial.println(Num);
analogWrite(motorPin, Num);
}

switch(results.value){
case 0xFF18E7: //Keypad button "2"
Num = Num + 10;
if(Num > 250)
{Num = 250;}
if(Num < 40)
{Num = 40;}
Serial.println(Num);
analogWrite(motorPin, Num);
}

irrecv.resume();

}

Why are you using a switch case statement for one case?

I not 100% sure how the switch cases work but I think if I want to add more buttons to my program I should use a switch to be able to easily add more.

GymBoyB: