Is there a way to send keystroke from analog value?

Hi, so i started messing around with arduino about 3 weeks ago because im a machinist, and would like to have an mpg or (jog pendant) for my CNC. None of the generic mpg's online quite fit what i was looking for, so i started researching how to make my own and came across a way to use an arduino leonardo to make a button box and also an instructables describing what needs to happen in order for everything to work. Basically, what needs to happen is each button on the mpg needs to send a keystroke to the computer running the machine, and the computer needs to be programmed to read the keystroke and perform an action based off of whatever key is sent. The problem I'm having is id like to have 2 potentiometers controlling the spindle speed and table speed, but im not sure how i would send an analog value as a keystroke, or if there's possibly another way of performing the same function. I have a little bit of control on the other end, as i have to edit the screen script on the CNC software to obey they keyboard commands sent by the arduino, but that doesn't mean anything if there's no way to send digital signals from an analog read. Would i be better off just using an "up" and "down" button to control the value? Or could i use something like the "map" function or "if else" statements to kind of make a half-assed ADC? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also don't know if its important or not, but the CNC software is Mach4.
-Thanks

It seems to me that the only option is UP & DOWN keystrokes
If your system has a mouse - you can try to map potentiometer signal to the mouse coordinates.

Welcome to the forum

Your query

sounds like the opposite of the title that you gave this topic, ie a keystroke from an analogue value

A keystroke is what its name implies, ie a single key value so it cannot be an analogue value (0-1023) any more than you could type a value from 0 to 1023 by pressing a single key on the keyboard.