is this motor project possible?

Hi, I am a bit of a noob with electronics and would like to run a 12v motor in a circuit with an arduino board. Heres my plan?

I want to make a motor run for 20 seconds and then stop for 5 seconds then run for 20 seconds (Then repeat)

I will need to power the motor of a 12v battery and not through the Arduino board, but don't know how to make the motor be powered of the 12v battery, but get its on off commands from the Arduino board. I think I am correct in thinking this is possible but don't know if I have the correct stuff so I will list my components below :slight_smile:

An Arduino board
100 Ohm resistors
many kinds of transistors
some push buttons
wire
12v motor
9v battery
12v battery
LED's
Breadboards

Hope this is enough :-/

This sounds like a fairly straightforward motor control application. Chances of success are high :slight_smile:

Have a look at the Motor and Solenoid resources here:

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/InterfacingWithHardware#Output

If your motor only ever needs to turn in one direction you can treat it like a solenoid. The "motor control" solutions are mostly geared towards H-bridges which allow motors to turn in both directions.

--
Check out our new shield: http://www.ruggedcircuits.com/html/gadget_shield.html

I kind of understand that stuff, but I find real pictures much easier to understand. Know of any? Also am I going to definitely need a diode for this project?

I kind of understand that stuff, but I find real pictures much easier to understand. Know of any?

Here is the first picture in the Solenoids section of the web site I suggested.

Also am I going to definitely need a diode for this project?

Definitely maybe. I would get my hands on one if at all possible. If you run without it you run the risk of damaging your transistor.

--
Check out our new shield: http://www.ruggedcircuits.com/html/gadget_shield.html