Is this possible?

Hello,

I want to ask if a certain project I want to undertake would be possible with a single arduino processor.
I'm really new to programming, my only background is half a year of AP Computer Science that I'm currently enrolled in at my high school. I haven't really looked around the forum too much, I wanted to ask if it were possible before I started looking into how to do it.

Ok, so I have one of these:

It's a midi controller. I wanted to start dj'ing live, but triggering my own lights to be in sync with the music. I wanted to know if it would be possible with arduino. I'd figure out all of the specifics later on, I just want to know for now whether or not it's possible. I wanted to build several 20x20 LED light panels and have them all flash simultaneously at different tempos, at different frequencies, all triggered by the controller. So, for example, one row of buttons could be 128 bpm, with the lights flashing in quarter notes, eighth notes, sixteenth notes, etc depending on the button I pressed. Another row would be 140 bpm, another could be 110, and so on. I'd originally planned to build every panel with it's own processor, but then I realized that might be stupid/inefficient and a bit too expensive. Could I manage to do all this with a single processor? If so, which one should I be looking at?

Some other things; does a frequency sensor exist? Like, something that could change how bright a light is depending on the sound frequencies it picks up? So, say, if I cut out all the high frequencies, the lights dim, and then get bright again as soon as I bring them all back? Similarly, does something exist to detect how loud a sound is? Any other suggestions?

I know this all sounds super pipe-dreamy, maybe even a bit childish, but I feel like it'd be a really cool project to take on if it were actually possible. Especially now that I'm actually starting to look forward to my programming class at school.