Issues reading RS232 data from Digital Scales

Hi there,

I have a set of digital scales that is outputting continuous data via RS232. I am trying to print the data in the serial monitor, with the end goal of being able to send the data to a HTML file to display the weight on a physical monitor. However, I am trying to walk before I run, and can’t seem to get any data from the scales at present.

I have an Arduino Uno connected via the Max3232 breakout board (VCC, TX, RX, and GND), and an RS232 cable going from the breakout to the scales.

I know the scales are outputting data, because I can read it in a terminal on my PC if I connect directly.

My code is below:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(10,11);  //SRX, STX   

void setup()
{
   Serial.begin(9600);
   mySerial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
      if(mySerial.available()>0)
      {
           byte x = mySerial.read();
           Serial.println(x);
      }  
}

I have to admit, I’m a complete beginner when it comes to Serial, and RS232 in particular. So far, my google searches have been fruitless. THe code I’m using is something I stole from someone who was having a similar issue, and it seemed to work for them. Please let me know if I’m missing some crucial info in order to get help!

Thanks.

void loop()
{
while(mySerial.available()>0)//change for to a while
{
byte x = mySerial.read();
Serial.println(x);
}
}

Hi,
Your scale should be sending more than one byte to represent the weight, so you should print all the characters.Keep im mind that serial are more slow that the CPU clock, so at the time you run if(mySerial.available()>0) the first byte has arrived and the next one is about to come in, so not yet in serial buffer.

hugo007:
Hi,