L298n Is a mess. HELPPP!

Hello lads, I'm a newbie who bought a 4w chassis (Motors work with 5v to 10v, don't know the amps), an l298n, and other stuff. I have 3 different batteries, a 6v 4.0AH Lead-Acid battery (It's the small one but heavy AF) a battery pack of 6v of 4 aa, and a 9v battery. I haven't tested the big 6v battery coz It discharged.

The problem::: Idk why when I use the 6v battery pack only 2 motors move really slow. The input is 6v the output is 0.5v (why is there a 5.5v drop???). Same thing when I use a 9v battery.

int IN1 = 7;
int IN2 = 6;
int IN3 = 5; 
int IN4 = 4;

void setup()
{
  pinMode (IN4, OUTPUT);    
  pinMode (IN3, OUTPUT);    
  pinMode (IN1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode (IN2, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{

// One sense
  digitalWrite (IN4, LOW);
  digitalWrite (IN3, HIGH); 
  digitalWrite (IN1, HIGH);
  digitalWrite (IN2, LOW); 
  delay(4000);

// Stops
  digitalWrite (IN3, LOW); 
    digitalWrite (IN4, LOW);
  digitalWrite (IN1, LOW); 
  digitalWrite (IN2, LOW); 
  delay(500);

// Other sense
   digitalWrite (IN3, HIGH); 
    digitalWrite (IN4, LOW);
  digitalWrite (IN1, LOW); 
  digitalWrite (IN2, HIGH); 
  delay(4000);

// Stops
   digitalWrite (IN3, LOW); 
    digitalWrite (IN4, LOW);
  digitalWrite (IN1, LOW); 
  digitalWrite (IN2, LOW); 
  delay(5000);
}

Avoid the ancient, inefficient L298, which is causing the observed voltage drop. Pololu carries modern, efficient brushed DC motor drivers.

You will need to buy a driver that can easily handle the start/stall current of the motors.

9V smoke alarm batteries do not have enough current capacity to drive motors and barely enough to power the Uno. 9V smoke alarm batteries have no place in Arduino projects even though they are widely shown in projects. Don't believe what you see on the internet.

1 Like

The problem is that I need to use this, my school tells me its necessary LOl

Thx, should I use the 6v lead battery? What battery do u recommend.