LCD display 16x2 showing gibberish - how to reset? [SOLVED]

Hi, I am new to Arduino - so please excuse my level of ignorance :) . I have a standard 16x2 LCD display on an UNO, being addressed by the LiquidCrystal() library. It has been wired as per the example provided in the IDE. The system is in a very noisy electromagnetic environment and I should be shielding it, but can't do that until I get it running and tested. Problem is after about 5 minutes I lose the display when some motor or heavy duty switch gets excited. The display gets filled with random junk. But the UNO keeps on humming along and has never quit or reset and continues doing its job.

I have tried grounding / +5V the E pin and the RS pin on the display or turning +5V off and on, but the display continues showing the same junk, and does not reset. If I reset the UNO, then I get my display back -- but just for a short time until some equipment switches on or off. Is it possible to reset just the display? How does the UNO reset the display?

Is it possible to save the data collected by the UNO so if the UNO is reset to fix the display, I don't lose the data?

All comments are appreciated. protoVTOL

protovtol: The display gets filled with random junk.

Does lcd.clear() clear the LCD?

In 4 bit mode, the host and the LCD must remain in nibble sync. If they lose nibble sync with each other, it will never recover so the LCD will start to see garbage commands.
The only way to recover is to re-initalize the LCD using a special 3 command sequence to get back into sync.
This is done in the code in begin()

If you power cycle the LCD but not the Arduino that won’t help since the default power up mode for the LCD is 8 bit mode.
So if the library is in 4 bit mode and you power cycle only the LCD, the host (arduino) and the LCD will not be in the same mode (LCD in 8 bit mode, host in 4 bit mode) and the LCD will see garbage commands.

Nibble sync is lost if there is ever a glitch on the E signal.