Led control, using FFT library

Hi Everyone!

I need help to create a simple code, using FFT library. I found the 32- Band audio spectrum visualizer project on net. I would like to have the similar concept, but i need to output the measured values to 8 leds. I read hours to understand the FFT, but since i’m not a programmer, it is impossible for me. That’s why i ask for help. The goal is for me, to get signals via MAX4466 microphone, divide the 20Hz-20khz (or 18kHz) to 8 (or better for me to 6) channels, and the result values should drive the leds channel by channel. I tried to reduce the mentioned sketch, and spent hours to get some result what i can use. I could see changes in the different “sample” values, but it wasn’t stable enough, and i don’t know why the result turned to negative sometimes. I tried to use the the original variables in the project (somehow) to get some result, what i can use to control the leds, but no success.

Please let me note, that sadly i’m so far from programming, i can follow logical thinking to get my projects work,
but with this one, i’m really stucked, any kind of help would be greatful, thank you!

The modded sketch attached…

Best Regards:
Keypriceb

Reduced_FFT_sketch.ino (3.33 KB)

Take the original code that does 32 bands and group them in groups of four. Average each group and use that average to light your LEDs.

As you have found the FFT is confusing for some one who doesn’t know the theory so messing about with the parameters without understanding what they are doing and what consequence they have is a bit of a fruitless exercise.

Thank you Mike, for the reply!

Yes, i agree with you, it is quite impossible for me to do this. But since i received 2 pieces of defected MSGEQ7 chip (i planned this to use it for the project) from china, i had no other options. If i order another, it would arrive 2 month later, and i need this stuff earlier. I will take your advice, and try to figure out where, and how i can group the bands.