LED (or fibre-optic) lighting control for a nautical chart

Gents

I’d like to mount a nautical chart on a large wall at home and light all the buoys and lighthouses on the chart so that they display the actual characteristic of the buoys/lighthouses; ie, flash red twice every three seconds or, continuous flashing white, or occulting green, etc, etc… and someone mentioned that this arduino system could be used as the brains of the operation.

My idea was to use LED lights controlled by a microprocessor or, alternatively, use fibre optic cable from a light engine controlled by a microprocessor but I’m not an electronics expert!

In total there are 24 lights, all with different characteristics, on the chart which would be hung on the wall and powered via 230v and a transformer/voltage regulator.

In short, is it feasible to achieve what I’m seeking using the arduino system combined with LED lights or fibre-optic?

Many thanks in advance for your thoughts, opinions and input.

Is this possible? Absolutely! Actually, you could do much more as well....but, you were told correctly. Arduino would be a nice fit for this size project.

And you would go with LEDs if you wanted to keep the cost down, or spend a little more for optic cable for "kewl factor" (but not necessary). Don't forget about LED brightness, there are many.

Now, the Arduino UNO only has 14 output pins and you have 24 lights. Still not a real problem but your coding is gonna be a little more trickier as you may need a few external chips for addressing all 24 lights. Or, you could go with the Arduino MEGA2560 which has 54 output pins, and now things are pretty simple to put together.

You can find all kinds of examples on the web (including Arduino.cc) showing the wiring for the lights. Your next challenge will be to get your head around how to code the timings sequences for each light. Again, go to the tutorials at Arduino.cc

http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/HomePage

Hope this helps....and good luck!