Logging data from a voltmeter to monitor a motorbike battery

Hello,

I'm a beginner in using Arduino. I have been reading some stuff here and there and haven't actually built anything yet. I do have a problem I have to solve with my motorbike and I think that the Arduino could help me diagnose it, so here I am.

The idea is pretty simple. I have to monitor the tension of the battery to see if anything strange, like polarity inversion, happens while charging. To do so, I would have to tape a multi-meter or voltmeter on the tank and keep an eye on it to see what happens. The an idea popped into my mind. What if I could have something record the data for me, so that when something weird happens I can simply look at the log?

Here are some questions:

• is there a voltmeter shield/module that I can use, or would I have to build it my self?
  • in alternative, is there a small voltmeter that I could somehow hook to the Arduino?
  • My C is very rusty, but the programming part shouldn't be too hard, should it?

An ideal situation would be to have a very small LCD voltmeter/display that I can use to keep an eye on things while driving, while the arduino does its job behind the scenes. The display wouldn't be required though, as long as the logging is working.

So, here it is.

If you read this far, thanks for your time :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Gabe

That's doable....

The Arduino has an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) that can be used to [u]read voltage[/u].

You'll need a [u]voltage divider[/u] (2 resistors) to knock the voltage down to the 0-5V range and [u]protection diodes[/u] to protect the Arduino from unexpected spikes or negative voltages.