Manual and Relay dual control switch

Hi, I am new to Arduino world, so apologies if anything sounds absurd. Here is my idea -

I will connect a Light in a 3-way switch fashion. One of the 3 way switches will be replaced by relay controlled by arduino. I am able to do successfully so far. But knowing status of light is a problem. To know the status I have to have a control on the manual switch also, which is where I am struck. After doing some reading I find the following idea which may or may not be possible.

Can I connect the switch to arudino while it is still connected to mains? If so how can I do it.

Any other Ideas also welcome. The only thing is I do not want to replace the manual switch.

Thanks in Advance :)

raghavendra3790: I will connect a Light in a 3-way switch fashion. One of the 3 way switches will be replaced by relay controlled by arduino. I am able to do successfully so far. But knowing status of light is a problem. To know the status I have to have a control on the manual switch also, which is where I am struck.

I can't visualise how the '3-way switch' would be used. This would probably be easier to understand if you described the overall behaviour you're trying to achieve i.e. how the manual switch and Arduino will be used together to switch something on and off.

You need second relay , but with 230V ( 110V ? ) coil . Connect it's coil to your light - so when you manually turn the light on, coil will be powered an relay will make a contact. Connect one of the relay's contact to GND of arduino and second one to one of digital pins on arduino. The, in you code put a boolean flag :

boolean light_on ;
const byte status_pin =  2 ;   // change the number to whatever pin you connected relay to 

void setup()
{
pinMode( status_pin, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop()
{

if ( ! digitalRead(status_pin) )
  {
    light_on = true ;
   }
  else
 {
    light_on = false;
  }

}

Then you can use light_on flag to determine what is the state of light :