MAX7219 Not Lighting Up With Wemos D1 Mini Lite ESP8285

Hi all, this is the first time posting on this forum, so I apologize if this is in the wrong category. I’m also very new to the Arduino scene, and hardware in general, so I may not be familiar with all the lingo yet.

I am building a “clock” that will display Stripe revenue from their API. I have written the code for this and it works great in the Serial output, however, I can’t for the life of me to get the MAX7219 to work. I am working with the MAX72XX library.

This is my current hardware:
Wemos D1 Mini Lite (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BK435ZW/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)
MAX7219 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FFV537V/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Jumper Wires https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B077N5RLHN/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s02?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Breadboard https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01EV6SBXQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s02?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This is my current configuration:
Wemos D5 → MAX7219 CLK
Wemos D7 → MAX7219 DIN
Wemos D8 → MAX7219 CS
Wemos GND → MAX7219 GND
Wemos 5V → MAX7219 VCC

I have configured it this way from following the pin layout from this URL:
https://wiki.wemos.cc/products:d1:d1_mini_lite

My board configuration:
LOLIN(WEMOS) D1 mini Lite, 80 MHz, Flash, 1M (no SPIFFS), v2 Lower Memory, Disabled, None, Only Sketch, 921600 on /dev/cu.wchusbserial1420

Additionally, this is the code that I am using (Example from MAX72XX library):

// Use the MD_MAX72XX library to Print some text on the display
//
// Demonstrates the use of the library to print text.
//
// User can enter text on the serial monitor and this will display as a
// message on the display.

#include <MD_MAX72xx.h>
#include <SPI.h>

#define PRINT(s, v) { Serial.print(F(s)); Serial.print(v); }

// Define the number of devices we have in the chain and the hardware interface
// NOTE: These pin numbers will probably not work with your hardware and may