Measuring distance travelled on an axis of a large paper cutting machine

Hello,

I am a total beginner in regards to Arduino and its various components, and I’d appreciate your insight and experience on this.

We have an old paper cutting machine, for very large sheets of paper (that can measure up to 1 meter in length). The machine being old, it doesn’t have any of the automations that the newer, more expensive machines have. You have to measure each single cut with a ruler before actually cutting the paper.

As you can imagine, this can get very tedious very quickly. To get a glimpse on the workflow, you can check this sort video:

Bear in mind, this is a new, fully automatic machine, so the operator enters the desired dimension, the machine moves its single axis back or forth to the desired location, and then cuts the paper.

In my older machine, you have a hand crank that is connected to a lead screw that drives the thing that you see in the picture attached. This thing in turn pushes the paper to the desired location in order for it to be cut.

Adding a vernier scale is impossible, as far as I am concerned, as it would need to be almost 1 meter in length.

I was thinking of adding an absolute rotary encoder directly to the acme screw, which would count the revolutions. Knowing the pitch of the screw, the Arduino would then make a simple calculation and then show how far the thing in the back of the machine is from the 0 point (aka from the point where the cutting blade depresses).

My main concerns are:

1. This needs to be very very accurate. Within 0.1mm or better.
  2. Will it need a homing switch?
  3. How can I account for backlash and for anything else that might skew the final results?

Thank you.

photo with explanation.jpg

Have you considered buying a digital readout linear scale?

...R

Robin2:
Have you considered buying a digital readout linear scale?

...R

I didn't know about these until now, and I have to say that it's a great idea.