Measuring Resistances Between Multiple Wires

Hello,

I am new to using Arduino and I am not quite sure of the extent of its capabilities.

Background information:

I need to measure the resistance between wires. There are 4 wires, and they're all attached to a single thing on one end. I need to measure the resistance between wires 1 and 2, 2 and 3, 3 and 4, 4 and 1. I have attached a picture of what the wires look like.

The problem:

I need to be able to do this automatically, that is, one circuit has to be able to measure all 4 of these resistances without having to change anything manually.

My question:

Is this something that is possible to do using Arduino? I don't really care if the solution is complicated, first I need to know if its even possible at all. Please help me if you have any brilliant solutions :slight_smile:

Thank you for your time!

The 1st question is, can you measure 1 resistor? And/or can you make all 4 measurements by switching the wires around? Measuring resistance isn't an easy thing with the Arduino...

I believe a digital multimeter works by putting-out a constant/known current (maybe 1mA or less depending on the resistance range) then the voltage is measured and resistance can be calculated.

The Arduino measures voltage] relative to its ground so with no common reference for your measurements you'll have to make/break connections to connect one circuit at a time.

You can use relays or solid state switches to switch the connections. And if there's anything else connected, especially power, you'll have to switch-out those connections too.

It's possible, but we need more information.
What is the resistance range you are measuring?
How accurate does the measurement need to be?
What will you do with the information?

What ranges of resistance are you interested in?

Paul

If they are wires of the same length and gauge there would be no need to measure 4 to 1.
Continuity of 4 is already established with 3 to 4.