Measuring resistance between switchable inputs

First I’d like to say I’m fairly new to Arduino but I’ve found this forum to be incredibly helpful. I’m reaching out to anyone who can point me in the right direction for a small project I’m working on.

My objective is to measure the resistance between multiple inputs. I don’t even need the actual number, just whether the connection is present. I’ve successfully coded to read resistance on an analog port but my problem lies as to how I can to select and measure multiple connections.

Below is my hand drawn schematic. Please forgive the roughness of my sketch.

Basically, I need to be able to select which inputs to use (like a switch), then measure the resistance and report it. For example, select/open a connection between 2 &7, measure the resistance in between, and report it to Arduino. Can someone tell me what type of component I need to handle this many connections? Shift register, multiplexer, mux shield? I assume the device needs to have analog pins to obtain the resistance readings.

Cheers -Andy

How do you plan to measure the resistance ? (with a DMM ?)
Switching the connections is straight-forward using an analog SWITCH

That part is 4 analog switches, not an analog mutiplexer.
It can be wired up as a mux.

Can any 2 pins be connected together? Or is there some pattern to the pairs?

What you can do is wire two switches back to back, drive an output into 1 common, connect the other common to an analog input. If the analog input also has a resistor to Ground, then a voltage divider is formed and you calculate the resistance between the pins.

The analog switches can be a part like DG406, appropriately controlled by Arduino, need to take its internal series resistance into account, unless you are just looking for a High/Low kind of result.

raschemmel:
How do you plan to measure the resistance ? (with a DMM ?)
Switching the connections is straight-forward using an analog multiplexer