micro controller with bluetooth

Hey all,

I'm working on a slighly ambitious project. I want to controll an LED stripe (the color and the brightnes) (3pin RGB Led - WS2812) with my mobile via bluetooth (I guess it's the best solution) as a stand alone product (without a computer conected) powerd by a LiIon akku (3.7V). I'm a pretty good programmer, so writing the programm and the app for the phone in the end isn't the problem. My problem is, I have little clue about electronics. What are the components I need, etc. I want to go as small as possible, so in the end using also no arduino (all too big but for now it's ok).
Have someone experiance with something like that? what bluetooth module can be used? also the LEDs need 5V so I need a 3.7 to 5V piece of electronic, how does that look? even someone an advice what microcontroller I could use that can handle bluetooth and a led stripe?
It is a quite concrete plan I have in my mind, so if someone has the time and has fun in helping contact me pesonally :slight_smile:
If this Forum is completly wrong, have you a hint where I can get answers to such questions?

Thanks a lot!
Kaje

You will need a computer. You need something to feed data into the LED strip.
But there are tiny Arduinos or DIY bare chip setups you can use.
How many LEDs? How many mAh in that battery?
A small package would actually use ESP8266 Wifi. I don't know if there's a similar SOC BT module. But a BT module you seem to be planning to use is the same size as an Arduino Pro Mini, so your size concerns are wonky. You'll have a big battery anyway. A literal few millimeters thickness on that would be insignificant.

You don't have much of an idea, yet you think it's a concrete plan. Not sure why you're asking for help with a concrete plan.

Thanks for the answer! And yes you are right, plan is the wrong word. I have a concept in my mind an seeking for ways to realize it.