microstepping issue

Hello all,

I am somewhat new to Arduino coding, and was wondering if someone could help me out with some microstepping.

I currently have a Nema 17, stats below, paired up with a A4988 stepper motor driver connected to a Arduino Leonardo.

My project I created is a barn door mount for star tracking. Basically, I just run this to track stars at Earth’s rotation speed to get steady pictures while stargazing.

I created the mount and had some success with it, but am having issues with the motor hesitating and I believe it has to do with my programming, set up and coding seen below.

// STEPPER DRIVER CONNECTED TO:
// ENABLE pin: D10   (PB6)
// DIR pin:  D9      (PB5) 
// STEP pin: D8      (PB4)
// ratio between the large gear and the small one=0.2549
// Length from middle of rod to hinge = 158mm
// M8 rod rises 1.25mm for every rotation of the Big Gear.
// 15 degrees per hour = rise of 42.3359724mm
// 1/4 degree per minute = .70559954mm
// Rotation of Big Gear for 1/4 degree per minute = (.70559954*360)/1.25) = 203.21266752 degrees
//marked off 203 degrees on big gear and kept modifying step amount and speed until 203 degrees was reached at 1 minute. 

#include <Stepper.h>
#include <AccelStepper.h>

Stepper stepper(295,8,9,4,11);
void setup()
{
  //Speed of motor 
   stepper.step(295);
  stepper.setSpeed(6);
}
void loop()
{
  stepper.step(295);
}

So a couple things…One, what can I do to stop this from hesitating? Two, how do I microstep the motor to make it turn more smoothly or am I already microstepping and don’t know it? I am not grasping the basic concept of microstepping even after reading the tutorials from here, so hoping someone could lend me a hand. You can see a video of the mount running below. Thanks!

One, what can I do to stop this from hesitating?

What is causing the hesitation(s)? Underpowering the stepper? Excess load on the stepper?