MIDI: How to intentionally delay notes?

I have a sketch where MIDI notes trigger pulses to analog pins. I need to be able to delay some of the triggers by a few microseconds. I've been trying to cause a delay between when the MIDI note is received and the analogWrite occurs.
Here's part of the sketch:

if (note == 43) {
analogWrite(11, TRIGGERLEVEL);
delayMicroseconds(DELAYTIME);
analogWrite(11, LOW);

(where DELAYTIME= 1000)

I've tried adding both delayMicroseconds() and delay() like so:

if (note == 43) {
delay(DELAYTIME2);
analogWrite(11, TRIGGERLEVEL);
delayMicroseconds(DELAYTIME);
analogWrite(11, LOW);

But it doesn't seem to work, no matter how much I increase the DELAYTIME2. I'm pretty new to Arduino. What do I need to do to get my desired result?

Yes it should work. How are you measuring the fact that you think it dosn't work.

Two ways I know:

1. the analog circuit that the "delayed" pulse triggers remains in sync with the MIDI sequencers metronome, again no matter how much I increase the DELAYTIME2 value. There should be an audible delay (difficult to discern with a few microseconds, of course, but I've increased the value up to a second and get the same result).

2. (long explanation) The reason I need some notes delayed is because there is one MIDI note (that triggers the Accent circuit) that I do not want delayed, i.e., I want it to trigger its pulse before all of the others when they are all programmed on the same beat. When this happens, all notes on that same beat are Accented (amplitude is increased). So, I know that the other notes are not delayed, because no matter what value I set as DELAY2, the notes are not accented (meaning that the Accent pulse didn't trigger first). On the music sequencer (on the laptop), if I nudge the Accent note a couple of ticks before all other notes on the same beat, then the Accent circuit triggers as it should.