Model Railway Turntable - in a spin so much Im dizzy

Firstly, my apologies for using incorrect language etc. I am very new to all this and am trying to learn extremely quickly. I am extremely appreciative of any help that can be offered and thank you for reading on.

I have been trying to create a sketch to control a T-Gauge 1/450 scale model railway turntable with simple clockwise and anti clockwise buttons to control direction. I then desire motor travel to the next pre-stored location/step count in said direction.
I have been going around and around in circles for a week or more (pun intended) that im getting dizzy.
Can i please reach out for some guidance/advice, especially as to whether this project is feasible or not.

I have read so many online pages, watched tutorials, followed youtube videos, etc. I have even attempted to use Chat GPT as one video recommended it. All to no success.

I then spent time building and wiring a tester board with sensors, switches, buttons, pots, LEDS etc all built in so as to simplify wiring and ensure it was not the wiring at fault. I am satisfied following extensive testing that these are all now wired correctly.

I have tried learning about .cpp and .h files to try and break the code down but I think im getting more and more confused. I even attempted to follow some tutorials to enable me to create these but im starting to believe my entire approach is wrong. Please help.

I am trying to create the program/sketch to meet my brief as below:

i need it to control a stepper motor 28byj- 48 using an uln2003 driver board to be used as a model rail turntable. - I do not require anything too substantial due to the size if the model.

i need to be able to store 12 saved locations. 6 locations and then the same 6 plus a half turn so the train can be turned around to face the opposite way.