Monolithic code file

I am a programmer used to the Keil microcontroller IDE and as such am used to creating a structured file pattern for different peripherals and link them to Main.C. Like for instance one of the typical projects will have these files in the Project :frowning: refer attachment )

Main.c
LCD.c
I2C.c
LED Disp.c

All functions in other three files as referenced in the Main.c with an “extern” prefix.

just wanted to know if the Arduino IDE has this facility as none of the examples seem to have one such sample. They all seem to have monolithic code file.

I am just starting out on Arduino so please bear if this is a very basic query.

Thanks
Mogaraghu

You can have as many source files as you want - just stay away from the "main" name. ISTR, it causes issues. The standard extension is .ino and you can have as many .ino's as you want. All .ino files get munged into one large file before compiling. But if you use .cpp extensions that won't happen.

Most arduino projects are pretty small, so single files are generally sufficient.

All .ino files get munged into one large file before compiling.

Thanks for responding.

OK I can make many .ino files - but how are they going to be linked together ? I mean will each have a Setup() and Loop() ? In other words how do I make many .ino files into a single project and link the different variables ?

Mogaraghu:

Thanks for responding.

OK I can make many .ino files - but how are they going to be linked together ? I mean will each have a Setup() and Loop() ? In other words how do I make many .ino files into a single project and link the different variables ?

With .ino files you don’t have to do anything. Before it goes to compilation, the IDE stitches them all together so they get treated like one big file. The only issue is that they don’t always go in the order you want. I think it actually puts them together in alphabetical order, but don’t quote me on that.