Mosfet getting hot and motor vibrating using a 3.6v motor.

I am very new at this so forgive my lack of knowledge. I've researched beforehand but everything I find doesn't quite make sense.

I'm using the arduino uno starter kit. I set up the circuit shown in project 9 of the starter kit, the motorised pinwheel. Which works fine, my problem is that I attempted to modify the circuit by using the battery and motor from an old electric screwdriver, which is a 3.6v motor powered by essentially 3 AA batteries. Reason for this being that I want to combine the knock knock lock and the motor and gearbox from the screwdriver to open a door on my TV stand.

My problem is that when all hooked up, the mosfet gets hot after 10 - 15 seconds and the motor does not turn, only vibrates (or that's what it feels like)

The mosfet I'm using is that supplied with the starter kit.

I'm sure it's a fairly simple answer but I'm struggling. Any help would be appreciated.

Can you show us your schematic? Either hand drawn or picture will do.

Yeah of course…

The only difference between that and mine is the battery and motor, my battery is three AAs and the motor is 3.6v

Either the MOSFET is backwards or the diode is backwards. Does it still get hot when not connected to the arduino?

The circuit how I have it now did used to work with the 9v battery and motor that comes with the starter kit. It’s only since I changed the motor and battery that this has happened.

Here’s some pictures it might help…

A PP3 9V battery is a very low current power source so presumably the motor designed to work with it only draws a tiny current. A bigger motor would draw more current, and a lower voltage motor would also typically draw more current (for the equivalent power). It may be that the motor is simply trying to draw more current than your MOSFET can provide.

Have you calculated / looked up the current needed to turn the motor, and compared that to the spec of the MOSFET?