Most Efficient Way of Combining Large Strings for HTML Response

I’m a C# web apps developer dabbling in building IOT devices. My first attempt is a direct Wifi enabled thermostat that you can control via a web interface for my popup camper so I can control it at 3am when I’m inevitably roasting or freezing without getting out of my sleeping bag and crawling over my wife :slight_smile:

I have a basic working code and wired up hardware circuit board using a NODEMCU 12E ESP8266 device and a DHT22. However, it is not reliable. It seems after a certain number of operations, it freezes up. After researching, I’m guessing it has to do with the fact that I am using the evil String class do handle my large HTML building strings.

I’ve literally been researching the best way to do this for a couple of months (this is a hobby, but taking the camper out next weekend, so I now need to finish it up). I see a ton of posts about not using the String class as it is a memory hog…got it. But I have not found straight forward answers to concatenate large strings like what I’m trying to do.

Below is a snippet of my sketch that builds the HTML for the most problematic web page in that it results in the most string concatenations and the longest string. Upon initial run it is 2k + in length. But note it also calls a looping routine in readHistoryDataFile() which is more of the same concatenation of the webString variable.

What is an efficient way to do this looping string building?

Thanks in Advance!

void setHTMLHistory()
{
  String webString = "";   // String to build and return HTML response
  webString = "<html>\n";
  webString += "<head>\n";

////////////SCRIPTS
   webString += "<script>\n";  
   webString += "var hostName = window.location.hostname;\n";
   webString += "function convertToDateTime(minAgo){ \n";
   webString += "var amPM = 'a'; \n";
   webString += "var dt = new Date(); \n";
   webString += "var currentMsec = dt.getTime(); \n";