MPXV7002DP pressure sensor expanded pressure range

Hello all,

I'm new to analog sensors and trying to get some clarification on how to use this sensor, MPXV7002DP. The sensor is rated from -2kpa to 2kpa, but several of the sellers comment that

"with an offset specifically at 2.5V instead of the conventional 0V, this new series allows to measure pressure up to 7kPa through each port for pressure sensing but also for vacuum sensing (refer to the transfer function in the data sheet for more detailed information)".

I'm trying to figure out what this means and how to actually use this to measure up to 7kpa. Everything I've searched just gives the exact same wording without any further explanation. I checked the data sheet and the transfer function is Vout = VS × (0.2 × P(kPa)+0.5) but I don't see any other info.

Does this mean that rather than attaching the sensor to ground and +5v, I should attach it to +2.5v and +5v? Or do I move the high rail up as well so I input +2.5v and 7.5v?

Or do I wire it as usual and just alter the transfer function?

Or am I just misunderstanding the information and this isn't something I have to change, but that I can just use it normally up to a higher pressure than rated...

Thanks in advance for any assistance

Forget about voltage when using this sensor. You're not using/building a voltmeter.

Sensors like this are ratiometric, meaning that they output a ratio of their supply.
Only if you power them with 5.000volt, they will output 2.5volt, but when is that going to happen.

The datasheet should simply state that they output half of their supply without differential pressure (the 'D' type), and 10% or 90% of their supply with -2kPa or +2kPa differential pressure.

Fortunately most Arduinos have ratiometric A/Ds.
The A/D outputs ~512, whatever voltage you supply to the sensor (within reason) without pressure.

The code should get the A/D value from the analogue pin, subtract ~512 from it (the offset),