Multiple Button setup

Hello all, I am newer to world of Arduino, I have many years experience with Event Driven processors, applications, etc... (mainly OOP). I am working on a personal project (Cornhole boards) where button presses will change the color of an LED strip (2812) in a bargraph pattern for score. I am trying to come up with the best course of action to my processes. I can make both buttons work just fine, but coming from the object oriented world, my sketch looks messy (IMHO). As of right now I am just reading the state of the buttons, and incrementing a count, and manipulating the bargraph accordingly all in the loop(). I toyed with the Idea of Interrupts, calling another "function" upon a High value read of a button, and a few other methods. I just wanted to get others take, or ideas. Just a point in a direction is all I need to get moving. Examples are great as well.

Since you did not post your code, only you can decide how "messy" it is.

Interrupts are NOT the answer if you are just detecting a button press. You can take a look at the state change detection example in the IDE (File->examples->02.digital->State Change Detection) to see how a typical button press gets handled. Once detected, you can call another function or just execute some code in place. Totally your choice.

You can also break out the bargraph update as a separate function and call as needed when something changes.

If you want more help, please post your complete sketch (using code tags)

blh64:
Since you did not post your code, only you can decide how "messy" it is.

Interrupts are NOT the answer if you are just detecting a button press. You can take a look at the state change detection example in the IDE (File->examples->02.digital->State Change Detection) to see how a typical button press gets handled. Once detected, you can call another function or just execute some code in place. Totally your choice.