Multiple multiplexers connected to 1 analog input

Hi everybody,

I have a project where I will need to read out many (so so many) analog inputs (different resistor values). After googling around I learned that multiplexers will really help me out here. I have an idea (and a schematic sketch attached) but I seeing how I’m fairly new to this business I was hoping some of you more experienced folk can take a look and maybe detect foreseeable problems.

The idea:

I use and Arduino mega in combination with about 48 multiplexers (HC4067). All the multiplexers are connected to 1 analog input. 4 Digital outputs are used to control all the input selectors on the multiplexers. 48 Digital outputs are connected to the individual enable ports on the multiplexers to select which multiplexer to read from.

I have a gut feeling this might not work so easily as I hope… Any tips or feedback is appreciated!

Greetings.

I use and Arduino mega in combination with about 48 multiplexers (HC4067). All the multiplexers are connected to 1 analog input. 4 Digital outputs are used to control all the input selectors on the multiplexers. 48 Digital outputs are connected to the individual enable ports on the multiplexers to select which multiplexer to read from.

So you have to read from over 750 analog signals?

The overall setup probably works but you have to keep a few things in mind:

• The multiplexers have an internal resistance
  • Transporting analog signals over longer distances don't work reliably
  • You might have to take the cabling systems capacitance into account
  • Reading all signals need quite some time

I have a project where I will need to read out many (so so many) analog inputs

48 chips x 16 = 768 analog inputs? Sounds like a nightmare! :smiley: I hope you are making a custom PC board.

connected to 1 analog input