Multiple solenoids (with adjustable timing) on one arduino

This is my first time using Arduino, although I have some microcontroller exposure with the Basic HomeWork board. I am interested in powering multiple (6-8) very miniature solenoid valves to fill small, tubular balloons. I want timing to be flexible, although generally the filling/emptying of each balloon will follow a wave-like function. I may choose to connect the solenoid valves to a manifold or similar device, along with a pressurized air source. I have not selected a particular solenoid valve, although I am considering 3-way valves, as I can allow the balloons to deflate as they would regularly. I was wondering which Arduino product would be optimal, and whether the I/O pins can deliver enough voltage to solenoid valves of a miniature size. If not, would I have to design a driver circuit for each solenoid valve?

Thank you for the help in advance!

" I was wondering which Arduino product would be optimal" Any will work. 8 IO for the valves, leaves 12 free for serial and buttons or whatever.

"and whether the I/O pins can deliver enough voltage to solenoid valves of a miniature size" Certainly not - 20-25mA is the max you should go to avoid long term damage.

"would I have to design a driver circuit for each solenoid valve?" Yes. If the valves need you to drive a coil to open, and are spring loaded to close, then a simple N-channel MOSFET such as AOI510 or AOI514 will do. http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?keywords=aoi514

I see. Thank you for the response! This was very helpful!

CrossRoads: " I was wondering which Arduino product would be optimal" Any will work. 8 IO for the valves, leaves 12 free for serial and buttons or whatever.

"and whether the I/O pins can deliver enough voltage to solenoid valves of a miniature size" Certainly not - 20-25mA is the max you should go to avoid long term damage.