multitasking arduino at set times of the day

Hello

i am very new to arduino so please forgive me for my lack of knowledge. and this is my first post ever.
i am manly interested working with lighting/ leds because of the job role im in, and have done a few projects of my own at home, but not all using arduino.

so this is what im trying to accomplish, if possible.

im wanting arduino to control my strip lights but at different times of the day, but not just that im after two different effects within that same 24 hours.

so for example from the hours of 6am to 6pm i want my strip lights to fade in and out like the mac power light. i can make the lights do as i wish just not with all the timing side of things and not working with the other effect.

and from the hours of 6pm to 6am im wanting them to be on at around 50% then pulse to imitate a heart beat so 50% jump up to 100% small gap while it drops back down to 50% then 100% before fading slowly back to 50% then repeat.

being able to adjust the time in the 50% range would be great.
ive been searching the web with no luck, im thinking i need to some how incorporate a RTC in to the mix or have some sort of timer circuit going before the arduino and then just run two of them, with each one controlling one effect each.

if anyone could please help or guide me in the right direction it would be much appreciated, like i said im a noob to the arduino and coding but ok at the circuit and practical side and not afraid to get stuck into new things.

Hello Bryan
A few things to help you on your way:
Have you read the stickies about posting/how to use the forum? if not have a look then post your existing code so everyone can see where you are at.
Post a circuit diagram of what you have you have
Provide info on what components you are intending to use with links so we can check it through.