NeoPixels / LED strip + LDR + arduino

I am new to this so bear with me.

I am wanting to connect a sort of light strip system that can be connected to a LDR all powered by a DC power cord to a plug in to the wall, either NeoPixels or LED strips. I want to set up the light strip to be able to turn on as the room becomes dark and automatically turns off once the light comes back in the morning. I am designing a table with the lights inside of them in a boxed off area underneath with glass blocks, and an inch thick piece of wood over top with cutouts in the wood for the glass blocks to go, also where the LEDS will shine through. The design is a cube 27x27x27 inch with a 5 inch height in space to be able to fit the arduino, lights, and LDR. I am only needing to produce a yellow/white light, nothing crazy or really any other colors.

I am seeking any help or assistance on what I will need to do to connect the strip of lights to the LDR.

How to power the lights by a plug in the wall safely as well as not overheat.

The coding setup for both the lights and the LDR

Supplies that I will need besides Arduino, lights, LDR photoresistor.

Anything helps!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I feel like this is a pretty simple project I just do not know much about the exact design for the connection of the lights and LDR.

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What is LDR do you use?
Please provide the model number or link to the purchase.

I am not sure which kind I should use, do you have any you recommend. I want to be able to extend it through the top of the box and level with the top of the table so the sensor can be exposed to the outside light. I assumed that could be done via a wire or other sort of wire that can extend the LDR about a 8 inches away from the breadboard.

I had such a task only once - I used

See schematic and code examples there

LDR

I meant like one of these. I also would like to know if there is a way to extend that LDR to farther away from the board itself.