New to arduino and need some help with power issue

Hi all,
As i said in the title i am new to arduino development (and electronics). i have been programming for a while now but although i know the software side the hardware side is a different kettle of fish.

so my question is as follows.

How can i give mutliple power sources to elements that i have hooked up to the bread board.

In my case I have a servo and a motor. if i have either one connected the standard usb connections powers each individually fine. however if i have both hooked up, it only powers the servo (and at a very low power as the servo runs slow (most likely due to the power being shared between both elements)).

so just to clarify a little i want to be able to run both the motor and the servo at the same time. i know i will need more power (maybe just a 9v battery for the servo and a 9v battery for the motor). However i just need some help in understanding how i will feed this seperate power to them.

If you need more info just ask and i will tell you.

Cheers
Mark

You should use some transistors and external power supplies (like batteries, as you suggested).

You attach the base of the transistor (Through a resistor) to and Arduino pin, which can turn on or off (and stages in between via PWM) the power flow.

When you use external power sources, you must always remember to connect the grounds (negatives) of the external sources to the grounds of the Arduino. IE, connect the negative of the 9 Volt battery to a ground pin on the Arduino.

Hi TchnclFl,
Thanks for the swift reply. I believe i get what you are saying. however i just have a little question with regards to where i connect the live and ground from the battery.

so on the bread board i have a strip for the live and ground which i use when plugin in the ground and the 5V from the arduino. now for the battery do i simply plug the negative into the negative strip and the positive into the positive or do i connect them in a different way?