new to arduino - wish to have a wifi controlled water tank heater

Hello everyone, its been a while im wondering about the arduino and wish to find some time to try something with it. I have no experience with arduino, but have some knowledge in electricity and good knowledge in programming. i have in my home an electric water heater (for shower, i belive its a 2500W device), which i wish to turn on/off without actually being at home. i can also make a small app for my phone to send my router a signal that will be forwarded to a specific ip, of my water heater, thats no problem. but what equipment and what are the steps i need to do in order to have such a setup? as im very new to this area, can you help me figure out the equipments and items needed for such a thing? doing something i really need would be the best first experience for me, but also the hardest one, so please advice

thanks

I think you'd start with the heater, a thermostatic switch to turn it on when the tank was cold and off when the tank was hot enough, and a fused power supply with a switch. These parts should all be standard commercial off-the-shelf components. Perhaps you already have this. If not, set this up before you go any further.

The part you add to this is a PowerTail or similar mains switch capable of handling the very large current taken by the heater. Depending what mains voltage you have, this could be anything from 10A to 25A. It would be installed between the existing manual mains switch, and the heater/thermostat assembly. Due to the high currents involved and the fact you'll be wiring in non-standard components that must be rated correctly, I suggest that the wiring up should be done by a competent electrician.