NEWB! help with CPR Encoder!

I am trying to set up my 50:1 Metal Gearmotor 37D*54L mm with 64 CPR Encoder. The purpose of this project is to have this motor turn at a desirable speed, stop, and reverse to a desired position using a motor driver. I am currently just trying to understand how to use PWMs and the encoder.

I have started with the basics and messed with LEDs, buzzers, and servos to understand the coding a bit. I am new to this so be kind :roll_eyes: .

I am having trouble started. I am manipulating the code to try to read the encoder but no luck. This is my code but it is not reading the PWMs how I've seen them. This code is just writing the text in the Serial Monitor even if the pins are not in. HELP!!

int pinA = 10;
int pinB = 9;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  digitalWrite(pinA, 255);
  Serial.println("A");
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(pinA, 0);
  Serial.println("NoA");
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(pinB, 255);
  Serial.println("B");
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(pinB, 0);
  Serial.println("NoB");
  delay(1000);
}

The encoder outputs pulses that the Arduino must count. Your code is not even close. There are a ton of encoder tutorials. Google "Arduino encoder tutorial".

Hi, please use code tags to post your code.
First problem is you need to declare what pins are input.
Then you need to digital.Read, not Write.
I'm not sure if you know how an encoder works, it outputs a series of pulses that are dependent on speed and direction of rotation of the encoder shaft.
If you use the Search Arduino box in the top of this page and search for reading encoders you will find lots off posts that have found the solution you are looking for.
Can you post a copy of your circuit diagram, either CAD or picture of hand drawn will be okay, by the way to you have a digital mutlimeter to help you trouble shoot your project.

Hoping to help, Tom..... :slight_smile: