Newbie basic MAC ADDRESS question

Greetings Arduino community: I am just getting into arduino with a good fund of knowledge of circuitry, but only basic knowledge of TCPIP and most internet functionality.

I am trying to learn using an ETHERNET shield on my arduino.

I used this basic code ( created 12 April 2011
modified 9 Apr 20 by Tom Igoe):

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

// Enter a MAC address for your controller below.
// Newer Ethernet shields have a MAC address printed on a sticker on the shield
byte mac[] = {
  0x00, 0xAA, 0xBB, 0xCC, 0xDE, 0x03
};

// Initialize the Ethernet client library
// with the IP address and port of the server
// that you want to connect to (port 80 is default for HTTP):
EthernetClient client;

void setup() {
  // Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // this check is only needed on the Leonardo:
  while (!Serial) {
    ; // wait for serial port to connect. Needed for Leonardo only
  }

// start the Ethernet connection:
  if (Ethernet.begin(mac) == 0) {
    Serial.println("Failed to configure Ethernet using DHCP");
    // no point in carrying on, so do nothing forevermore:
    for (;;)
      ;
  }
  // print your local IP address:
  Serial.print("My IP address: ");
  for (byte thisByte = 0; thisByte < 4; thisByte++) {
    // print the value of each byte of the IP address:
    Serial.print(Ethernet.localIP()[thisByte], DEC);
    Serial.print(".");
  }
  Serial.println();
  Serial.println(Ethernet.localIP());
}

void loop() {

}

to show up the IP address given to my shield; I loaded it several times and the same IP address returns. Here are my questions:

1. My ethernet shield did not have a MAC address on it so I just used whatever address came in this sketch; but if ALL devices are married to MAC address, how can this work? I understood that an IP address can be assigned, but a MAC address is hardwired; am I wrong?