Newbie building a robot for a film project— Advice needed on parts!

Hi guys,
I'm a filmmaker, not a robot expert, although I'm looking forward to learning some robotics. I have never been very good at or had any interest in electronics until just recently.
I'm working on a film project and need a rover-type robot that is remote controlled, and looks cool. I'd considered getting an rc car and stripping the body off of it, but I just don't like the look.

I need the robot to:
move in any direction
move over rocks and gravel
be able to be controlled with my iPhone

I don't need it to do anything special like detect IR light or learn or draw me a picture or flash pretty lights. Ok, the lights would be cool.

I have a small budget and need to make sure I have the proper list of parts. Here is what I've spec'd out:

1. Starter Kit for Newsite Uno R3 - Bundle of 6 Items: Newsite Uno R3, Breadboard, Holder, Jumper Wires, USB Cable and 9V Battery Connector
  2. 4 Wheel Drive (4WD) Arduino Robot Platform (comes with 4 motors)
  3. I have access to a book for Arduino beginners

Other info:
I work on a Mac.

Are there other things I'll need? A soldering kit? Can anyone recommend an iPhone app that would be good to control my robot?

I can see myself adding some neat things to this later, but for now, I have a budget and a deadline, and could use some really simple, helpful tips to get a basic, rc robot.
Thanks!

Why complicate things with a processor and uncertain control system?
Why not just use standard R/C gear?
That's what the pros use.

AWOL's correct an RC skid steer (tank or any thing that does not use front wheel steering - much easier to control) and add a "cool" new outer shell.

Mark

Are you saying it isn't possible to create a robot that can follow basic commands like, turn, move forward, move backward, and stop, from a wireless device like an iPhone with arduino?