Newbie looking for help

Hello Arduino Community

I want to change my home and make it more smart. Therefore I want to control my Coffeemachine via an ESP8266 and ioBroker.

I came across this manual:
GitHub - chris7topher/SmartPhilips2200: This project contains code for the MQTT connection of a Philips 2200 coffee machine via ESP8266..

I studied this Post a lot but wouldn't understand to adapt this to a different coffemachine.

I thank you in advance for every advice on my first ever arduino project.

Thanks
EffEm

What is your programing and electronic experience?

Do you have a MQTT broker picked out or will you be using your own?

Do you have the schematic for your coffee maker?

I have basic programing experience and nearly 0 electronic experience.

I would've used the mosquitto mqtt broker as I dont know how I can use my own.

I didnt buy my coffee maker yet, as I try to get a better understanding of my project. Like is it even possible for me

If you have a computing thingy laying around, I use a Raspberry Pi, one could download Eclipse MQTT broker, its free, install it and now you have your own MQTT Broker thingy.

I have 13 ESP32's connected to my MQTT Broker. I can set my HAVC through my web site or see which animals are at the feeding bin, or water my plants, or check on humidity levels in the house, or a host of other things one can do with 13 ESP32's.

Does your coffee maker have digital controls or switches?

Please provide a make and model for it.

I would've used the ESP8266 microcontroller as he explained it in the video. Can i download it also there? This is also my longterm goal to make my home much smarter and automate many things.

MQTT BROKER DOES NOT RUN ON A ESP8266. The ESP8266 can be a client of the MQTT Broker.

MQTT Broker can be run on your desktop computer, a Raspberry Pi, a BeagleBone.

I will get a cheap coffeemaker. This one will have 2-3 buttons.

Krups Essenza Mini (NESPRESSO Original) - kaufen bei digitec