Newbie needs help...has interesting questions!

I recently purchased two arduino duemilanove boards and a bunch of other accessories (protoshield kit, sensors, leds, lcd screens etc?). I am a programmer by profession so the sketches should come easy. But other than that, I’m completely new to all this? but I have heart and I have the passion for ths. I’m a die hard DIYer?
Here are a couple of questions that came to me. I haven’t actually started working on anything yet so, any kind of help would certainly be appreciated!

1. How far will a signal travel along a wire? I’m asking because I am ultimately interested in making a home automation system using my Arduino and want to know how far I can place the different sensors from the Arduino board? How long can the wires be? And would that depend on the type of wires? What types of wires can I use?
  2. What is the relationship between voltage and audio? What kind of signal (voltage) is travelling through the wires that run from the computer to the speakers?
  3. How does one identify and gut out parts from an existing device? Is there a way of measuring and finding the voltage and current requirements of a part?
    a. I have a busted mp3 player from which I want to gut out and use the small LCD screen. How do I go about doing that?
    b. I have a Motorola Bluetooth headset that I want to gut out and use as a generic Bluetooth receiver/transmitter. How can I do that?
    c. I have a wireless mouse which I want to gut out and take the RF transmitter/receiver for general use with the Arduino. How?
  4. Like I said in the beginning, I’m ultimately interested in building a home automation system (multi-room audio, light control and sensors – temp, touch, vibration etc). How should I go about it?