Newbie would like his DIY Arduino schematic checked

Hi All

I’m new to Arduino, I decided I would have a go at designing my own DIY Arduino using Eagle. I’m also new to Eagle.

At the moment, the board is meant as a generic base design. that is why none of the digital or analogue pins are connected. I am trying to get the board itself designed correctly before I move on and make boards with a specific function in mind.

The board will be done using the ATMEGA328P-AU and SMD components to make it as small as I can.

I have done what I feel is a good amount of research and feel that I have most things correct so far, but would like some brains that are more experienced to look over it. I would like particular attention paid to the iscp and serial header please, as I am not confident with them. I also have to 1 question that I have not been able to clarify.

Question 1, the crystal I have picked is EPSON Q22FA1280034112. This crystal is different to what I have ever used with my through hole experience. The confusion I’m having is that the crystal itself has 2 ground connections. I am assuming that the ground connections are for the case of the crystal itself. I am also assuming that I still need to have the actual crystal connections running to ground via the capacitors. In the schematic I have attached to this post, you will see what I believe is correct. I was hoping I could get confirmation that this is correct on this post.

I have attached an image of my schematic to this post for you checking please

thank you in advance for you time and experience

The only thing that stands out to me is how that crystal is connected. Are you sure that is correct?

I believe the crystal is connected correctly. Im just unfamiliar with ground connections on the crystal. Im currently trying to find some examples of how they are used like that. Thanks for taking a look

Looks pretty okay. Only couple of things: