Nissan Consult and Arduino

Hello everyone, like many people I’m relatively new to arduino - done several tutorials a couple of my own projects (fan controller for my car, an alarm clock, servo control stuff - just random stuff like that ) but I’m having some issues with my current project and hoping maybe someone can offer some insight to why things aren’t working like I think they should. I’m not sure if my problem is software library stuff (which I admit I don’t totally understand).

Basically, there’s a consult library out there provided by a user named Crim - he claims it works with his arduino and an LCD screen (at least it did at one point). He’s been off here for a couple of years and I’m working on something similar and trying to use his (slightly modified) library. There’s also some info on the Nissan Consult interface provided by PLMS Development about address requests that return certain values.

The link to his library is: https://github.com/Crim/Arduino-Nissan-Consult-Library

The link(s) to the PLMS info is: http://www.plmsdevelopments.com/diy_consult.htm <<-- there they have listed the protocol, a generic ECU data register lookup table, and an interface schematic for the cable.

On the library files, I did go through and modify all of the WProgram.h references in the files to Arduino.h to support the new 1.0+ IDE. I have been trying to simply get a modified version of his program to run (modified to use a serial LCD in place of the liquid crystal library). My code is below. My serial LCD will display the stuff correctly, and it will say “ECU iniitallized” (the first booleen returning true) but after that will not read any further info from the ECU. The code is currently set up to display just the coolant temp and RPM.