No text on LCD 16 x 2

Hi. I'm a massive newbie to this. I've bought myself a 16x2 lcd screen and hooked it up following this tutorial: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/HelloWorld?from=Tutorial.LiquidCrystal

I soldered the points yesterday. The board connection itself seems to be working. The potentiometer works, as I can use it to change the brightness/contrast of the display (the darker background blocks appear on the screen when I turn it), but the "Hello world" text doesn't display. I'm not getting any errors with the code.

Any ideas on what I'm missing. The picture probably won't help, but this is how I've hooked it up.

Welcome to the group!

To start with, turn the contrast down to the point where the black matrix rectangles just disappear.

You have an interesting LCD1602 which appears to have alternative rows for the pin headers. Can you post a link to the supplier's product page ?

Since you appear to have the Backligh LED, contrast and power pins correct I guess that it is a wiring error but check very carefully, if there is labeling on the LCD pins, that the labels match those in the tutorial.

Edit:
I found the display Basic 16x2 Character LCD - RGB Backlight 5V - LCD-10862 - SparkFun Electronics
You did notice the two additional pins on it which do not appear in your tutorial ? It does looks like you have counted from the right and got at least at least the connections DB4 to DB7 wrong.

It does looks like you have counted from the right and got at least at least the connections DB4 to DB7 wrong.

Actually it looks as if he counted in from both ends which is just as bad and does make the data connections incorrect as you mentioned.

His photo doesn't clearly show the wiring but it does show more than 4 unoccupied pins between the group at the left and the group at the right.