Nokia-Mobira Talkman MD 59 conversion to GMS phone

At xmas I got my father's old NTM Talkman phone. I looking people who are ready to help me and same time convert his/her own old phone to working in gsm network.

I had long time idea to convert fixed phone to gsm phone. So I bought Arduino GPRS shield. I study it and find it easy to use with AT-commands. Then I studied arduino keypad library (matrix keyboard) and made my fixed line phone keyboard to working. After this I hit to problem. Mainly personal and because eight years in Nokia service is all what is needed to get pension (in my case), I have problem to concentrate to things where I need to connect things together in my mind.

I still want to make Talkman working with GSM network. Now I ask help from you. I'm making open source project to convert old fixed or mobile phone to gsm phone.

There is few things what need to clarify before we continue.

1. Power
  • Lithium
  • old fashion 12v battery
  • 5v power supply

All these need to keep in mind. I belive that at beginning of project we use only 5v power supply. Later I need to choose between 12v accu or lithium batteries.

1. two arduino system or one?
  • One arduino manage keyboard, leds and LCD screen and other manage gsm-services and power.
  • One arduino (Mega?) manage everyhing

When I tested fixed phone conversion, I found that Uno have just needed count of IO ports for handle a keyboard, phone and leds. I used ws2811 leds, so only one port was needed to handle 3 leds. TalkMan have mush more features what need to make working, so UNO have too few IO ports.

Also I want to make this so that anyone who want convert any other phone can more easier to use it his/her own project. So user interface should be taken to own arduino.