Noob here. trying to put together an oscillating unit

I’ll make this as concise as I can.

Goal:

I need to make a mechanism capable of oscillating a can of soda pop. I need to be able to control the speed and amount of rotation both ways. I need it to be easy enough to control the speed and rotation that anyone can do it, preferably with some simple external, physical input device rather than by using programming. I will be doing all the programming, but my boss wants the actual adjustments of operation to be simple and intuitive.

When I was asked to do this project, I immediately thought of using an Arduino and a stepper. So I looked through the forum, and I only found one article that touches on this project.

Does anyone know of a thread that describes a similar project? I’m not sure I am wording my query appropriately.

Thank you for any help!!!

(PS. This is for a project at my new job, and I’m trying to earn brownie points).

It sounds like you want to rotate the can - but, about which axis?
Another way to oscillate an object is up and down with no rotary motion.

If you just want to shake something back and forth (whether rotary or not) I would be inclined to mount a crank on the shaft of a DC motor and use a connecting rod to move the oscillating platform back and forth.

A stepper motor sounds like over-kill.

Can you post a diagram of the mechanism you are thinking of using for mounting and rotating(?) the can?

...R

I totally agree that it would be easier to do this with a DC motor and a crank. That was something that we discussed when we were planning this.

The only problem with that is that it will be a bit of a task to vary the amount of oscillation because we would have to adjust the linkage. My boss wants it to be basically a pushbutton device.

The can will be rotating on it’s long axis, as if it were a roller but the can will remain upright because it will be submerged, and the oscillation apparatus will grip it from the top.