NRF24L01 Power, Nano, OLED

Hi guys,

I’m not an expert on anything. I’m an amateur at best, but I’m trying to teach myself a little bit of this and that. I’d really appreciate your guidance on my project, though.

What I have is an NRF24L01 radio module connected to an Arduino Nano (clone) that outputs to an OLED display and is powered by a 3.7v 18650 battery.

The way that I have it connected is the battery charger circuit is connected to the battery, the battery is connected to a step up boost converter set at ~5v. The output of that converter goes through a button switch then one lead to the Nano and another to the RF module. The other side of the button goes to to the Nano 5v and the ground on the RF module goes to the Nano ground.

The OLED VCC and ground are not connected to the Nano.

If I connect my bench supply at five volts to the output side of the regulator, I receive the radio just fine in the serial monitor. If I disconnect the bench and run off the battery, I rarely if at all will receive a transmission. If I connect the USB cable to the Nano with the battery disconnected and the transmitter on the bench supply, I’ll receive the signal. The multimeter reads about 51mA being connected between the regulator and the button while it’s functioning proper.

To my untrained eye, it seems like while on battery power, it isn’t getting enough current. The voltage is set for 5v and I’ve measured 5v throughout the components, but I’m assuming the mA aren’t enough? But I think it should be more than capable? Anyway, can someone help and guide me in a direction that may lead to a resolution? Is it the voltage regulator after all? This one from Amazon is what I have in there.

Hi,