Objects going in opposite direction on a motor's shaft

Hi folks, I'm working a replica of a kinetic sculpture by Jeff Libereman. For the most part I'm doing okay, but I wanted to modify the design a bit: rather than making the mechanism spin with the use of pulleys, with everything exposed, I wanted to hide the mechanism behind the two plates such that they're the only thing visible to an observer. In my head, it might look like this:

But this presents a problem: the plates need to sit on a single shaft, but they need to go in opposite directions (and at the same speed) for the effect to occur. Placing them on a motor's shaft is easy, but how do I get one of them to spin in the opposite direction?

I'm fairly new to this whole thing so visuals will be appreciated if the explanation isn't trivial, thanks.

I suspect that's why they used pulleys and a line in the first place: the twist is what makes them counter-rotate.

You would need to fashion some kind of gearbox, and attach one disk to the input shaft and the other on the output. But then they won't be lined up.

That sort of thing can be fashioned with Meccano.

Concentric contra-rotation is not unusual - especially for both airplane and boat propellers.

The boat propellers use a rather simple system. Think of the drive coming down the shaft of an outboard motor. The propeller shafts are at right angles to the drive shaft. The drive shaft has a bevel gear and that drives a bevel gear on each of the shafts. Because the output shafts are driven from the opposite sides of the power shaft they rotate in opposite directions.

A system with all the shafts in line is likely to be considerably more complex.

...R

The two plates do not need to counter-rotate in order to see the effect. Only one has to move.

jremington:
The two plates do not need to counter-rotate in order to see the effect. Only one has to move.

Every demonstration of this piece has them spinning in opposite directions.

Robin2: